Code of Professional Ethics in Educational Technology

This week’s assignment was focused on becoming familiar with the Association for Educational Communications and Technology’s (AECT) Code of Professional Ethics.  Prior to the reading this week (from Educational Technology: A Definition with Commentary), I had been aware of the idea of professional ethics, but I had not necessarily given it that specific name, nor had I defined it with a list of detailed expectations.  Throughout the course of the reading, I came to understand the complex history of the development of the AECT’s Code of Professional Ethics, how the current version came to be, and how this Code can be used and applied to situations that arise in our professional careers.

The current Code breaks down the ethical standards in three categories: commitment to the individual, society, and the profession. This helped broaden my thinking to realize the far-reaching impact of our decisions and actions as educators and educational technologists; we not only influence our students, but society and our profession as a whole. In examining the individual articles of the Code, I was able to identify several current issues in my school and district and understand them as ethical issues in a way I hadn’t before. In fact, I had a hard time choosing which issue to focus on as the example for my paper, which is linked HERE.

Leave a Reply

